Mar. 3 2022

Administrative Law Judge Rotation

The Administrative Law Judges divide Mississippi into five territories: Central, Northeast, Southeast, Southwest and Northwest. The county of injury determines the assigned territory for the injury claim.

Claims assigned to the Central territory do not rotate Judges and any of the eight Administrative Judges can be assigned a claim within the Central territory. The remaining four territories, however, are assigned to two Administrative Judges for each territory. The Administrative Law Judges in these four territories rotate territories clockwise every two years.

When an Administrative Law Judge leaves a territory, he or she has the option to retain a case or allow the next Administrative Law Judge to take over. Administrative Judge rotations occur on even-numbered years with the most recent rotation occurring on January 1, 2022.

Questions? Please contact an MGC attorney.

This legal update is published as a service to our clients and friends. It is intended to provide general information and does not constitute legal advice regarding any specific situation. Past success does not indicate likelihood of success in any future legal representation.